You are currently viewing a snapshot of taken on April 21, 2008. Most of this content is highly out of date (some pages haven't been updated since the project began in 1998) and exists for historical purposes only. If there are any pages on this archive site that you think should be added back to, please file a bug.

Select Edit Changes Dialog

Last updated 12/22/98 by Charles Manske
Windows: Mac: UNIX:


The menu command Edit | HTML Source brings up an external editor and loads the current file. If there are unsaved changes, the user should be prompted to save before loading the file into the other editor using either the Save Changes dialog or the Save New Page dialog. There are two ways to get the situation where there are unsaved changes in the Composer window version and there are different changes in the saved file:
  1. The user answers "No" to the Save Changes dialog
  2. Or all of the following was done:
    1. The user made changes to the version using an external editor,
    2. and did not save them to the file,
    3. but switched back to Composer and made different changes there,
    4. then switched again to the external editor and saved those changes to the file.
Upon returning focus to the Composer window, the file timestamps are checked and the "Select Edit Changes" dialog will be invoked if the file is newer than the last time Composer saved it, and there are subsequent changes in the Composer page.


All text in dialog is static.


Click Button Response
Keep current changes Actually, nothing is done in this case. The current changes in the Composer are thus kept. The user is prompted to save them before exiting the app or closing the window. Whenever the file is saved, the changes from the other editor are lost
Replace current page with other version Immediately read the file that includes the external editor changes, thus loosing the previous Composer changes.